Italy beat England to win the EURO 2020 tournament

Italy beat England to win the EURO 2020 tournament

Italy beat England to win the EURO 2020 tournament



Italy have won Euro 2020 after beating England on penalties as Bukayo Saka missed the crucial kick for the Three Lions.

England went with a back three here to try and negate the Italians formidable front line and the tactical switch worked immediately as within two minutes the Three Lions were ahead.

A cross from the right found Luke Shaw all alone at the far post and the Manchester United man scored with a lovely first time volley.

It was a stunning start for Gareth Southgate’s side as a near-capacity Wembley roared like it had never before.

Italy were struggling to cope with England’s numbers in wide positions and when they did move into the final third, were restricted to pot-shots from distance.

Roberto Mancini’s men did have one moment of magic though as Federico Chiesa danced his way in on goal – but the Juventus man’s effort was just wide of the right-hand post.

Into the second half and England had a strong shout for a penalty in the opening exchanges, but Raheem Sterling’s protestations were waved away.

The Azzurri were knocking on the door and should have done better with a direct free kick from 20 yards, only for Lorenzo Insigne to curl it wide.

With an hour gone the game was getting messy with a real lack of fluency from both sides and late challenges at almost every turn.

But everything the Italians did well was because of Chiesa, and he forced Jordan Pickford into a smart save on 63 minutes.

They eventually did get their equaliser on 67 minutes as some confusion inside the area was pounced on by Leonardo Bonucci, who tapped in from close range.

The match then burst into life as both teams pushed for a winner but a draw it remained as we went into extra time.

England had been struggling to get a foothold in the game in normal time, but at the start of extra time seemed like the side that had taken the lead after two minutes.

Kalvin Phillips had the best chance to regain the lead but his effort from the edge of the area flew just wide of the post.

Italy were not to be outdone however, and once again forced Pickford into a smart save after Emerson’s cross/shot from the left-hand side.

Jorginho was perhaps a little lucky not to be given a red card for a late challenge on Jack Grealish, as both teams looked to push for a winner.

But that didn’t come as this tense final went to penalties.

Andrea Belotti was the first to miss for Italy as Harrys Kane and Maguire scored.

Marcus Rashford then hit the post as he tried to outsmart Donnarumma and the Milan goalkeeper then saved from Jadon Sancho.

Bukayo Saka was the unlucky man though, as his spot kick was saved and Italy claimed the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button
× WhatsApp